Secure your number and SIM with Line Lock by Visible


What is Line Lock?

Line Lock protects your service from unauthorized activity related to port-outs and SIM swaps. When Line Lock is toggled to Locked, the following become restricted:

  • Port-outs – While Line Lock is toggled to Locked, you will not be able to generate a port-out PIN nor will you be able to port your line of service to a new carrier. In order to do so, you will need to toggle Line Lock to Unlocked. 

    • This is to prevent someone unauthorized from moving your line of service to a new carrier. 

  • SIM changes – While Line Lock is toggled to Locked, you will not be able to pair your Visible service with a new eSIM or pSIM. 

    • This is to prevent someone unauthorized from taking control of your line of service on a device that you do not control.

Note: 

  • After toggling Line Lock to Unlocked, it will take 30 minutes before all restrictions have been lifted. After 30 minutes, you will be able to make any needed SIM changes or port-out your phone number.
  • An unlock time will appear underneath the Line Lock section of Number Security. The unlock time will let you know when all restrictions have been lifted.
    • Example: If you select Unlock at 8:07 am, the unlock time will show 8:37 am.
  • Emails and SMS notifications will be sent each time you change your Line Lock setting.
  • Members with lapsed accounts still have the ability to change their Line Lock status. 

Toggle Line Lock to Locked

Toggling Line Lock to Locked is super easy! Follow the steps below to secure your phone number and SIM:

Step Action
1

Open the Visible app or sign into your Visible account on the website.

2

Navigate to Dashboard.

3

Go to your phone line Device details section.


Note: The Line Lock & portout-PIN window displays.

4

Select the arrow next to Line Lock & portout-PIN option.


Note: The Line Lock & portout-PIN window displays.

5

Click Lock.


Note:

  • A “Line Lock settings updated” green banner will appear at the top of the screen confirming that the Line Lock setting has been updated.
  • You will receive an email and SMS confirmation of the Line Lock toggle change.
  • If you have a lapsed account, you only receive a SMS confirmation.

 

Toggling Line Lock to Unlocked

Whether you need to request a port-out PIN or swap devices on your account, toggling Line Lock to Unlocked is just as easy! 

 

If Line Lock is toggled to Locked you won’t be able to make any changes with your phone number or SIM. Let’s say you want to switch from one device to another, you would need to toggle Line Lock to Locked before doing so.

 

There are two different Unlock actions you need to know about Line Lock:

 

Toggle Line Lock to Unlocked – Until I lock it again

  • When you use this Unlock action, this means that Line Lock will not be locked until you toggle it to Locked again.
  • After toggling Line Lock to Unlocked, it will take 30 minutes before all restrictions have been lifted.
    • After 30 minutes, you will be able to make any needed SIM changes or port-out your phone number.
      • If you decide to change your mind within the 30 minutes, you can cancel Unlocking Line Lock.
      • The unlock time will appear underneath the Line Lock section of Number Security.
        • The unlock time will let you know when all restrictions have been lifted.
        • Example: If you select Unlock at 8:07 am, the unlock time will show 8:37 am.

Toggle Line Lock to Unlocked – Date range

  • This Unlock action allows you to set a date when Line Lock will unlock and relock itself without you having to manually do it.

    

Toggle Line Lock to Unlocked – Until I lock it again

       

Step Action
1

Open the Visible app or sign into your Visible account on the website.

2

Navigate to Account.

3

Go to your phone line Device details section.


Note: The Line Lock & portout-PIN window displays.

4

Select the arrow next to Line Lock & portout-PIN option.


Note: The Line Lock & portout-PIN window displays.

5

Click Unlock.


Note: A “How long do you want your number unlocked?” tile displays.

6

Select Until I lock it again.

7

Select Save.


Note: A “We need to make sure it’s really you” pop-up appears.

8

Enter the 6-digit code you received through text message.

9

Tap Confirm.


Note:

  • A “Line Lock settings updated” green banner will appear at the top of the screen confirming that the Line Lock setting has been updated.
  • You will receive an email and SMS confirmation of the Line Lock toggle change.
  • If you have a lapsed account, you only receive a SMS confirmation.
  • After the 30 minutes cooldown period, the “Get your port-out PIN” option appears.

  

Toggle Line Lock to Unlocked – Date range

 

Step Action
1

Open the Visible app or sign into your Visible account on the website.

2

Navigate to Account.

3

Go to your phone line Device details section.


Note: The Line Lock & portout-PIN window displays.

4

Select the arrow next to Line Lock & portout-PIN option.


Note: The Line Lock & portout-PIN window displays.

4

Click Unlock.


Note: A “How long do you want your number unlocked?” tile displays.

5

Select Choose date range.


Note: A new screen displays containing:

  • A “How long do you want your number unlocked” message.
  • A current month calendar.
6

Select the desired time.

7

Enter the One Time Passcode (OTP) the system sends to your phone.

8

Click Confirm.


Note:

  • A “Line Lock settings updated” green banner will appear at the top of the screen confirming that the Line Lock setting has been updated.
  • You will receive an email and SMS confirmation of the Line Lock toggle change.
  • If you have a lapsed account, you only receive a SMS confirmation.

 

Cancel Unlock

Step Action
1

Open the Visible app or sign into your Visible account on the website.

2

Navigate to Account.

3

Go to your phone line Device details section.

4

Select the arrow next to Line Lock & portout-PIN option.


Note: The Line Lock & portout-PIN window displays.

5

Select the Cancel Unlock button.


Note:

  • A “Line Lock settings updated” green banner will appear at the top of the screen confirming that the Line Lock setting has been updated.
  • You will receive an email and SMS confirmation of the Line Lock toggle change.
  • If you have a lapsed account, you only receive a SMS confirmation.

         

If you need assistance, feel free to reach out to the Care team through the Visible app or chat online.

 


Last Updated date: Sep 23, 2026